Javier Camarena

Discussion of contemporary singers: Jonas Kaufmann, Juan Diego Flórez, Anna Netrebko, etc.
Jim

Javier Camarena

Postby Jim » 16 Apr 2016, 10:38

When looking at underrated singers I think it is worth looking at Javier Camarena. His tessitura is similar to Juan Diego Florez with a more lyrical sound. He is about three years younger but does not look it. His repertoire significantly overlaps that of Snr Florez. Here are two examples of his singing from YouTube. One good and one average. How do you feel he compares to Snr Florez and others, such as Alfredo Kraus, Ugo Benelli, Colin Lee, Luis Alva, in the repertoire of Rossini, Donizetti and Bellini?

and

Much like Kraus this is a voice that can handle more full lyric roles such as Duke of Mantua.

Jim

Geoff

Re: Javier Camarena

Postby Geoff » 16 Apr 2016, 23:42

Well Javier, how do I think he compares ? (remember - I'm no voice professor - I just know what I like). I did not know of him which does not say much for me. I think he compares very well. In fact, he has nothing at all to fear from the illustrious names that you mention. He very clearly has the vocal equipment, he has confidence in himself and he is very well trained. He may not be as photogenic as Senor Florez but that should not count. Here is an important voice - I hope that he goes on to carve out an impressive career for himself but the opera world is a cut-throat business. From now on; I'm a fan!

Regards,
Geoff

TifosoBonisolli

Postby TifosoBonisolli » 17 Apr 2016, 20:40